Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Recommend us on Google+ Watch us on YouTube Join us on LinkedIn NLC on Reddit
New Leaders Council

7th Annual Heroes at Villains + Meet the NLC Institute and Engaged Fellows

Each year, New Leaders Council Los Angeles recognizes leaders who do amazing work advocating for progressive change throughout Los Angeles. These influencers touch a broad range of fields, including education, entertainment, public sector unions, non-profit management, law, medicine, and business.

At our Heroes @ Villains event on Jan. 19, we will honor several of the amazing alumni of our program — selfless people who push to fight for Dreamers, who shine a light on inequality, inequity, and social injustice, who advocate for those without a legal voice, and who advance progressive causes locally and internationally. This year's winners are:

  • Ana Najera Mendoza, ('11 NLC LA); Staff Attorney w/ ACLU of Southern California’s Education Equity Team
  • Tamika Butler, ('14 NLC LA); Executive Director of the Los Angeles Neighborhood Land Trust
  • Jonathan Beutler, ('14 NLC LA); LA County Beach Commissioner and delegate to the CA Democratic Party
  • Roque Pech, ('17 NLC LA); Blended Learning Manager for PowerMyLearning

This year's event is even more exciting as the night will provide a chance for all attendees to meet our new 2018 NLC Institute and Engaged program Fellows.

Get your tickets today as we sell out every year.

Or support our event and these amazing progressives today with a sponsorship package that includes special ticket deals.

Can't make it in person? Support NLC LA and these amazing unsung leaders with a small donation.


January 19, 2018 at 6pm - 8pm
Villains Tavern
1356 Palmetto St
Los Angeles, CA 90013
United States
Google map and directions
Eric DeSobe ·
Adrian Bayoan Rossello-Cornier Lourdes Joan Teh Stephanie Shaw Liliana Ivette Funes Zuhey Espinoza Tamika Butler Angela Carrasco Paul Aguilar Fernando Morales Yeci Olmos Viviann Anguiano Shane Phillips Marcus D Higgins Michael Mares Armilla Staley Ngomo Samuel Sukaton Matthew Regueiro Fernando Navarrete Ana Najera Mendoza Jaime O. Sanchez Aixle Aman Samuel Liu Marisa Ramirez Neil Spears Clint Schaff Andres Cuervo Chris Copolillo Sarah Esquivel Jonathan Beutler Roque Pech Maria Copolillo Wade F. Dean Christina Prejean Weiss Hamid Lynnzi Brianza Ale CoVi John Flores Mallari Joanino Brittany Ballard Jeremy Knight Tulsi Patel

Will you come?

$40.00 Regular admission ticket
includes one free drink

$20.00 Guest of NLC Institute Fellow or Guest of Engaged Fellow

$10.00 2018 NLC Institute Fellow or Engaged Fellow
includes one free drink

Atlanta - Augusta - Boston - Broward - Capital District NY - Chicago - Cincinnati - Cleveland - Connecticut - Des Moines
Detroit - Houston - Jacksonville - Kentucky - Los Angeles - Louisiana - Madison - Maine - Maryland - Miami - Montana - Nashville - New Jersey - New York City
North Carolina - Oakland - Omaha - Orange County - Orlando - Palm Beach - Philadelphia - Pittsburgh - Rhode Island - Sacramento - San Francisco - Silicon Valley